Skirball Center for the Performing Arts - New York University

An orchestral concert featuring the NYC Premieres of Mohammed Fairouz’s Pax Universalis & Violin Concerto, “Al-Andalus.”

Spain provides an ideal setting to tell the story of our interconnected human history. Embedded in the culture, language, dance and music of Spain are stunning intersections between people of many different ethnic and religious backgrounds. The enchanted story of Spain resists any claim of a battle between “us” and “them” which is heard with alarming regularity in our world today. The abundant diversity of Spain’s culture is both inspiring and creative, and is a story worth telling.

The Mimesis Ensemble presents “Al-Andalus” to tell the story of Spain from two musical perspectives. The first is through the orchestral music of Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), a French composer born to a Spanish mother and Swiss father. The second is through the orchestral music of Mohammed Fairouz (b. 1985), an American composer of Arab descent. These two glimpses into Spain’s richly diverse culture celebrate and affirm the brilliant interconnectedness of many lives, and provide a vision for today’s disjointed world.

Join us for this joyfully optimistic concert, which celebrates the creative intersections of peoples and cultures found in Spain!

Sponsored by the Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Department at NYU

Maurice Ravel: Bolero (1928)
Maurice Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole (1907)
Mohammed Fairouz: Pax Universalis (2015) – NYC PREMIERE
Mohammed Fairouz: Violin Concerto, “Al-Andalus” (2013) – NYC PREMIERE

Rachel Barton Pine, violin
Mohammed Fairouz, conductor and composer
Laura Jackson, conductor
Mimesis Ensemble Orchestra

For more information please visit Mimesis Ensemble or MEIS