Skirball Center for the Performing Arts - New York University

Featuring The FLUX Quartet and Michael Nicolas (of International 
Comtemporary Ensemble)

Sonic eddys, spirals, pools, reflections, maelstroms, and Grey Goo

Live digital processing techniques allow composers to move sound in time and space, letting it respond to the performance site and to the audience within it. The resultant piece is always in flux in domains that we don’t typically listen to as significant.

This concert presents works which explore computer music’s most virtuousic technical possibilities, as well as revisiting selected retro techniques. This event brings together the FLUX Quartet, and also cellist Michael Nicolas (International Contemporary Ensemble) with internationally acclaimed experimental composers, from NYC, New Hampshire, Virginia, Montréal, California, and London for a concert of multi-channel computer musics. All artists will be present. This concert includes a number of premières.


Patricia Alessandrini
Elizabeth Hoffman
Monique Jean
Eric Lyon
Jaime Oliver
Curtis Roads
Spencer Topel