the whisper opera, with words and music by Pulitzer Prize-winner David Lang and direction and design by Jim Findlay, is performed by the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) with the musicians, singer, and audience enclosed in an intimate onstage set, and is performed almost entirely in whispers. Lang explores the question: “what if a piece were so quiet and so personal to the performers that you needed to be right next them or you would hear almost nothing. The only way this piece can be received is if you are there, in person, listening very closely.”

Show More

The International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) is an artist collective committed to transforming the way music is created and experienced. ICE explores how new music intersects with communities across the world. The ensemble’s 35 members are featured as soloists, chamber musicians, commissioners, and collaborators with the foremost musical artists of our time. The group currently serves as artists in residence at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts’ Mostly Mozart Festival, and previously led a five-year residency at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago.

iceorg.org

Show Less

Tickets

Are you a member?

Log in for member benefits or join today for only $65.

NYU Community

If you're a part of the NYU community click here

Wed, Jan 24 @ 7:30pm

Thu, Jan 25 @ 7:30pm

Fri, Jan 26 @ 7:30pm

Sat, Jan 27 @ 3:00pm

Sat, Jan 27 @ 7:30pm

Sun, Jan 28 @ 3:00pm

Tue, Jan 30 @ 7:30pm

Wed, Jan 31 @ 7:30pm

Thu, Feb 1 @ 7:30pm

Fri, Feb 2 @ 7:30pm

Sat, Feb 3 @ 3:00pm

Sat, Feb 3 @ 7:30pm

Sun, Feb 4 @ 3:00pm

2
3
4

Discuss