An unexpectedly compelling theatrical experience with a rough and ready energy, and, in the very act of its telling, speaks for the voiceless and forgotten.” – The Guardian (UK)

The Siege is a passionate retelling of the story of the 2002 siege of Bethlehem’s Church of the Nativity, during the height of the second intifada. Drawn from interviews with survivors, it is told from the point of view of some of the armed Palestinian fighters who found refuge in the church. Along with 200 civilians, they were given sanctuary by the church’s resident priests and nuns and spent 39 days there with dwindling food, water and medical supplies. While the world watched, the fighters grappled with survival, ideology, and the decision to continue the struggle to the end, or surrender.

Show More

The Freedom Theatre, based in the West Bank refugee camp of Jenin, is dedicated to using culture and art as catalysts for social change. Through workshops, classes and professional theater productions, the company helps Palestinian adults, youth and women develop tools to deal with the hardships of daily life under occupation.

The North American premiere tour of The Siege is produced by ArKtype / Thomas O. Kriegsmann.

Performed in Arabic with English supertitles.

thefreedomtheatre.org

Show Less

Tickets

Are you a member?

Log in for member benefits or join today for only $65.

NYU Community

If you're a part of the NYU community click here

Thu, Oct 12 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Fri, Oct 13 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Sat, Oct 14 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Sun, Oct 15 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Tue, Oct 17 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Wed, Oct 18 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Thu, Oct 19 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Fri, Oct 20 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Sat, Oct 21 @ 7:30pm

  • post

Sun, Oct 22 @ 3:00pm

  • post
2